sfc cover

One small Mississippi town, a country store/service station, plenty of memorable characters, plus somewhat dysfunctional parents and assorted relatives shape the world of an only child growing up in the 1940s and ‘50s segregated South.

Southern Fried Child In Home Seeker’s Paradise is a charming account of the unusual experiences of an unusual child. It opens a window into the stratified social and political ways of a small Southern town after World War II and before Brown v. Board of Education.

A memoir in the vein of A Girl Named Zippy, Haven Kimmel’s story of growing up in Middle America, Southern Fried Child In Home Seeker’s Paradise illustrates the closely-held and uniquely Southern sense of place and family.

“Don’t miss this vibrant, funny, and poignant memoir of a Southern childhood. If you liked Angela’s Ashes and It’s All Over But the Shouting, you’ll love Southern Fried Child In Home Seeker’s Paradise.”
–Dr. Bridget Smith Pieschel